SoC2020 – Week 1

Jun, 15 – Jun, 19

Online Meetings:
Α. Tuesday Jun, 16 – 12:00 – 16:00 EEST (11:00 – 15:00 CEST)
Β. Thursday Jun, 18 – 16:00 – 20:00 EEST (15:00 – 19:00 CEST)

  1. Programming Weekly:
    Two problems from LeetCode to be solved:
    a. (Easy) Reverse Integer
    b. (Medium) Integer to Roman
  2. Read a Paper Biweekly:
    Ruoti S., Kaiser B., Yerukhimovich A., Clark J., and Cunningham R. (2019) Blockchain Technology: What Is It Good for? ACM Queue Vol. 17, No. 5.
    – Will be discussed on Friday Jun, 26.
  3. Head First Design Patterns:
    Chapter 1: Welcome to Design Patterns.
    We examine “Encapsulating Behaviors” and “Programming to an Interface”.
    Goal: Build examples to demonstrate this case.
  4. Robotics and Automation:
    Intro to Arduino. Blinking led and control blinking using a potentiometer.
  5. Google Hashcode:
    Self-driving rides. In this competition problem, we’ll be looking at how a fleet of self-driving vehicles can efficiently get commuters to their destinations in a simulated city.
    Let’s solve this problem by Jul, 3.
  6. Alumni Speech:
    Will start soon.
  7. Tutorials:
    First tutorial on Git and GitHub.
    Wednesday Jun, 17 (12:00 EEST – 11:00 CEST)
  8. Projects:
    a. Planning “Hangman” (Android and React app using some open API for words)
    b. Planning “Trello Clone” (Full Stack Web Application and Mobile version in the future)
    c. Investigating the potential for C++ project(s).

One thought on “SoC2020 – Week 1

  1. Week 1 Retrospective:

    1. We had a demonstration on how to solve LeetCode problems.
    2. Preparing to discuss about Blockchain next week.
    3. Discussed about “programming to an Interface” and Polymorphism.
    4. We built a simple blinking LED experiment to get started with Arduino.
    5. We discussed the requirements of the Self-driving rides Google Hashcode project and we are ready to start solving
    6. Preparing the 1st speech.
    7. Had a Intro to Git and GitHub tutorial. Also selected some nice Coursera courses to get deeper into this topic.
    8a. Planned “Hangman” app. We are going to build it with Android (Java), plain JavaScript, and React.
    8b. Planned “Trello Clone” app. We will use React, Laravel or Django back-end, and MySQL at first. More advanced technologies to be added if the 1st stage will succeed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: