SoC2020 – Week 2

Jun, 22 – Jun, 26

Online Meetings:
Α. Tuesday Jun, 23 – 12:00 – 16:00 EEST (11:00 – 15:00 CEST)
Β. Thursday Jun, 25 – 16:00 – 20:00 EEST (15:00 – 19:00 CEST)

  1. Programming Weekly:
    Two problems from LeetCode to be solved:
    a. (Easy) Two Sum
    b. (Medium) Permutations
  2. Read a Paper Biweekly:
    We continue with this paper:
    Ruoti S., Kaiser B., Yerukhimovich A., Clark J., and Cunningham R. (2019) Blockchain Technology: What Is It Good for? ACM Queue Vol. 17, No. 5.
    – Will be discussed on Friday Jun, 26.
  3. Head First Design Patterns:
    We continue with Chapter 1: Welcome to Design Patterns.
    We examine “Encapsulating Behaviors” and “Programming to an Interface”.
    Goal: Build examples to demonstrate this case.
  4. Robotics and Automation:
    Intro to Arduino. Make an electronic dice.
  5. Google Hashcode:
    We continue with this problem. This week we should build a prototype and find which algorithm may help.
    Self-driving rides. In this competition problem, we’ll be looking at how a fleet of self-driving vehicles can efficiently get commuters to their destinations in a simulated city.
    Let’s solve this problem by Jul, 3.
  6. Alumni Speech:
    Will start soon.
  7. Tutorials:
    Second tutorial on Git and GitHub – Branching and Merging.
    Wednesday Jun, 17 (12:00 EEST – 11:00 CEST)
    Laravel and React tutorials will follow.
  8. Projects:
    a. Building “Hangman” (Android, React, and plain JavaScript app using some open API for words)
    b. Complete requirements and database design and start implementation of “Trello Clone” (Full Stack Web Application and Mobile version in the future)
    c. Building a simple Windows Forms app with C++.

One thought on “SoC2020 – Week 2

  1. Week 2 Retrospective:

    1. LeetCode problems work well, keep going.
    2. Blockchain paper didn’t impress the group, looking for something more interesting for next week.
    3. Implementing a Strategy Pattern case study in Java.
    4. Completed a Dice experiment with Arduino.
    5. Found some solutions and examining them to find approaches followed by successful teams.
    6. Preparing the 1st speech.
    7. Did a branching and merging exercise.
    8a. “Hangman” with plain JS and with Java – Android are ongoing. React will start soon.
    8b. “Trello Clone” app: designed the database and recorded the requirements. Almost ready to start.
    8c. Building a simple app for Hotel reservations.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: